We know that knowledge is power and we keep a vigilant eye on the industry, not only in Colorado but throughout the United States.
As an affiliate of the American Beverage Licensees, we have access to issues, answers and people who make things happen for our industry in the DC Beltway.
Supplying our members with information is an important service we provide. We make sure our members are well informed through weekly newsletters, blogs and updates delivered right to their inbox and here on our website
Additionally, the CLBA has answers to any questions our members have about licensing and regulation on any level. With over 50 years of experience in the industry, the CLBA knows our liquor laws inside and out and if we can’t answer the question, we definitely know who can.
Although Colorado’s liquor laws have allowed the retail industry to prosper, they can get confusing. The CLBA is here to answer any questions our members have about licensing and regulation on any level. With over 50 years of experience in the industry, the CLBA knows our liquor laws inside and out and if we can’t answer the question, we definitely know who can.
Frequently Asked Questions
A minor warning sign, state and local liquor licenses, sales tax licenses, and a federal tax stamp must be posted where the public may see them.
Records to fully show all business transactions must make these records available to Liquor Enforcement Division personnel for examination upon request.
From 8:00 a.m., until midnight every day except Christmas.
The relocation of entrances or exits, the addition of, (or deletion of) walls, require pre-approval from the local and state licensing authorities.
Applications to change, alter or modify your licensed premises are available from your local licensing authority or the Liquor Enforcement Division.
Annual renewal is required. Renewal applications will be mailed to the business address listed on the initial application, (or mailing address, if designated) at least 90 days before your license expires.
Retail liquor licensees may deliver alcohol beverages upon acquiring a delivery permit from the Liquor Enforcement Division.
Employees who check IDs and sell alcohol must be 21. All other activities in a liquor store may be performed by someone between the ages of 18 and 21.
Wine and liquor may be stored off premise. Beer may not be stored off premise. A storage permit must be acquired from the Liquor Enforcement Division and conspicuously posted at your place of business and the storage facility.
Other Resources CLBA Provides Members
CLBA members are automatically members of the American Beverage Licensees (ABL). This national organization is the premier service organization for the independent retailers of alcohol beverages in the United States. Their annual meetings provide members the educational opportunities to business successes.
CLBA has provided responsible vendor training for members and their employees for several years and with each participant, we know that fewer minors have successfully purchased alcohol. CLBA urges all members to mitigate the risk and damages associated underage sales. A trained sales staff is the best offense against sales to minors. Contact CLBA to schedule a CAST session.
Members stay abreast of the latest challenges whether they be Legislative, Regulatory or Ballot Proposals Updates on the activities of government or the private sector are a cornerstone of the services we provide.
Members stay up-to-date with the state of the industry though access to:
- ABL monthly newsletter
- CLBA monthly newsletter
- National publications
Guidance to CLBA in advocating for policies and practices that benefit our members can be found in the plethora of industry information available. We save members’ time and resources by maintaining a library of data, studies, industry statistics and more.